Friday Favourite: The Thief

I’m sorry it’s been awhile, but I’ve been going through a bit of a historical romance kick lately and haven’t had anything to talk about for YA books. However, this week I was going through my books looking for something to re-read and came across a favourite of mine: The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner.

It’s pretty obvious that I am a huge fan of fantasy, and for anyone else who is a fan of the genre, this book (the whole series, really!) is a must read. The intricate plot will have you hooked from the start, and you won’t see the end coming – it definitely took me by surprise, and made me so much more excited for what was to come in the rest of the series. The characters are complex and loveable, but what I love about reading this novel is that it makes you think and read into what is really going on. Whenever I re-read it, I always look for the clues that I missed the previous times I had read it!

Credit: GoodReads [http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/448873.The_Thief]
Credit: GoodReads [http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/448873.The_Thief]
The Thief isn’t necessarily my favourite in the series (I’m debating between the second, The Queen of Attolia, and the third, The King of Attolia) but I do love it because it’s the first novel in the series, and it’s where we first get to meet Gen and the magus, two of my favourite characters. This novel is like nothing I’ve ever read before, and I love that I can still learn new things and figure out new details in the plot each time I read it again. It’s definitely in the top five of my favourite series!

Here’s a synopsis from the author’s website:

The most powerful advisor to the King of Sounis is the magus. He’s not a wizard, he’s a scholar, an aging solider, not a thief. When he needs something stolen, he pulls a young thief from the King’s prison to do the job for him.

Gen is a thief and proud of it. When his bragging lands him behind bars he has one chance to win his freedom, journey to a neighboring kingdom with the magus, find a legendary stone called Hamiathes’s Gift, and steal it.

The magus has plans for his King and his country. Gen has plans of his own.

Have you read the series before? Let me know what you think in the comments!

Leave a Reply

