Friday Favorite: The Selection

This post was also published as an assignment on my website for my online journalism class.

Friday Favorites is a weekly post where I share favorite books or series of mine that I’ve previously read. Hopefully they’ll become favorites of yours too!

There are many dystopian teen reads out there, and I’ve read quite a few, so I was quite hesitant to dive into this series just because I felt like I had read them all. However, this wasn’t the case with The Selection.

The Selection

I was drawn first by the gorgeous cover. The dress is so lovely, and it just looked like a novel I wanted to read. It took a few times to convince me to pick it up, however. When I finally did, I was not disappointed! Kiera Cass, the author, wrote a dystopian novel that was quite unique than others that I had read before.

Of course, there are a few similarities, including a newly shaped society following a major war with class systems that pit the lower classes against the higher ones. And there’s a girl, who is entered into a competition against her wishes. She’s also caught in a love triangle between a boy from  her past and a boy from her future. This is the same old stuff that I’ve read in quite a few dystopian novels, but the circumstances and the world that they find themselves in is what makes it unique.

Rather than try and explain everything for you, here’s the premise of the novel, courtesy of Cass’s website:

 For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in the palace and compete for the heart of the gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself- and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

I was hooked from the start, and almost went through the entire novel in one sitting! It’s a shorter novel so it won’t take too long to get through, and it’s an entertaining read. I definitely recommend reading it and the second one, The Elite, before the third  novel of the series, The One, comes out on May 6, 2014.

To learn more about this book, the rest of the series, and other novels written by Cass, check out her official website. This book is available in paperback at major book retailers.

 

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorite: The Selection

Leave a Reply

