Friday Favorite: The Gallagher Girls

Friday Favorites is a weekly post where I share favorite books or series of mine that I’ve previously read. Hopefully they’ll become favorites of yours too!

The Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter (Photo by Sabrina Scarpino/SAIT Polytechnic)
The Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter (Photo by Sabrina Scarpino/SAIT Polytechnic)

When the first book in this series was recommended to me my a friend, I almost didn’t read it. I thought it would be too childish for me, but since I had nothing else to read I decided to give it a try. Thank goodness for that, because the Gallagher Girls is one of my all-time favorite young adult series.

Carter is a genius at creating a story and executing it, as she has shown many times, not only in this series, but in Heist Society (another one of my favorites) as well. She writes about kick-ass heroines who are strong, courageous, and smart. Her books are full of action and adventure, with subtle hints of humor (her little side mentions at Gallagher girl discoveries and the titles for each novel are examples) and of course, a few handsome fellas (hello, Zach and Mr. Solomon). Every element in her novels blend well together to make a story that has you breathless at one moment, laughing the next, and then full-on crying.

Okay, now for the actual books. In Gallagher Girls, Cameron (Cammie, or The Chameleon) Morgan and her friends attend the Gallagher Academy, a school for spies-in-training that poses as a private school for young ladies. The characters and the plot start out young and more innocent, but as each novel progresses the characters grow significantly to deal with the new problems and situations they find themselves in.

When the last novel came out, it was bittersweet for me. Bitter, because I would have to say goodbye to one of my favorite series, and sweet, because I had been waiting for over a year to finally read it! I thought the last installment was the perfect ending for the series, and found myself tearing up as the novel came to a close, and when [SPOILER] said a [SPOILER] when they [SPOILER], I was pretty much full on bawling.

So basically what I’m saying is you have to read this series – don’t make the same mistake I almost did!

Here’s a synopsis of I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have to Kill You, the first novel of the fantastic Gallagher Girls series from Carter’s website:

The Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women is a fairly typical all-girls school—that is, if every school teaches advanced martial arts in PE, chemistry always consists of the latest in chemical warfare, and everyone breaks CIA codes for extra credit in computer class. So in truth, while the Gallagher Academy might say it’s a school for geniuses what they really mean is spies. But what happens when a Gallagher Girl falls for a boy who doesn’t have a code name?

Cammie Morgan may be fluent in fourteen languages and capable of killing a man in seven different ways (three of which involve a piece of uncooked spaghetti), but the Gallagher Academy hasn’t prepared her for what to do when she meets an ordinary boy who thinks she’s an ordinary girl. Sure, she can tap his phone, hack into his computer, and track him through a mall without him ever being the wiser, but can she have a regular relationship with a regular boy who can never know the truth about her? Cammie may be an elite spy in training, but in her sophomore year, she’s doing something riskier than ever—she’s falling in love.

 

One thought on “Friday Favorite: The Gallagher Girls

Leave a Reply

